Middlesex Physical Therapy, New Jersey

Middlesex is governed under the Borough form of New Jersey municipal government. The government consists of a Mayor and a Borough Council comprising six council members, with all positions elected at large. A Mayor is elected directly by the voters to a four-year term of office. The Borough Council consists of six members elected to serve three-year terms on a staggered basis, with two seats coming up for election each year.

The seven-member governing body is empowered to enact local ordinances, to levy municipal taxes and conduct the affairs of the community. In almost all cases, it can review and approve the actions of other Middlesex Borough, committees and agencies. The Mayor and Borough Council conducts all of its business during monthly meetings open to the public. All Legislative powers of the Borough are exercised by the Mayor and Council. These powers can take the form of a resolution, ordinance or proclamation.

As of 2012, the Mayor of Middlesex is Ronald Dobies, who was elected in 2011. Members of the Middlesex Borough Council are Council President Ron DiMura, Patricia Jenkins, Michelle Tackach, Jeffrey First, Sean Kaplan and Michael Paff.

Until his selection in early 2006 to serve as borough administrator, Ron Dobies was the longest-tenured mayor in New Jersey with 26 years of service to Middlesex. With changes in control of the council, Dobies has been variously removed and restored to his position as administrator.